Tales Of My Landlord, Fourth And Last Series,




Printed for Robert Cadell and Whittaker and Co., London.






Collected and edited by jedediah cleishbotham, schoolmaster and parish-clerk of gandercleugh. in four volumes.

Item Description

FOUR VOLUMES. FIRST EDITION 8vo. 7.25 x 4.5 inches. Vol. I, xliii +[i] + 329 + [1] + [1] pp. Errata; Vol. II, 330 + [1] + [1] pp. Errata; Vol. III, [4] + 342 pp.; Vol. IV, [4] + 330 pp. Bound in half calf over marbled boards; spine decorated gilt with gilt bands and titles. All edges red. Top edges darkened, extremities worn and joints of Vol. I starting to crack. Foxing largely confined to flyleaves, preliminaries and margins; otherwise a very good set. First editions of the Fourth Series of Tales of My Landlord, two novels by Sir Walter Scott, that form a subset of the Waverley novels and the last two titles to be published. They feature Count Robert of Paris (set in Constantinople and Scutari, 1097) and and Castle Dangerous (set in Kirkcudbrightshire, 1307). Publication of this series began in 1816 and included The Heart of Midlothian and The Bride of Lammermoor. (Todd and Bowden, Sir Walter Scott, A Bibliographical History, 253A).

[Stock No. 27065]

Search by typing:

Or Choose a Category: